UK Americana Awards Nominees

UK Americana Awards 2019 nominees

The nominees for the 2019 UK Americana Awards, which celebrate the achievements of British and international members of the Americana music community, were announced last night at the press launch in London and we were pleased to see many Proper distributed artists among the nominees. The awards will take place on January 31 at the iconic Hackney Empire.

Bob Harris is set to once again present the awards and commnented “I’m thrilled and honoured to be hosting the 4th annual AMA-UK Awards at Hackney Empire and personally proud to announce that the powerful and mysterious ‘Curse of Lono’ will be the recipients of the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award for 2019”.

UK Album of the Year

  • All On Red by Orphan Colours (produced by Steve Llewellyn, Fred Abbott and Rupert Christie)
  • Bennett Wilson Poole by Bennett Wilson Poole (produced by Tony Poole)
  • Shorebound by Ben Glover (produced by Neilson Hubbard and Ben Glover)
  • Treetop Flyers by Treetop Flyers (produced by Reid Morrison, Sam Beer and Laurie Sherman)

International Album of the Year

  • By The Way I Forgive You by Brandi Carlile (produced by Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings)
  • Let Your Kindness Remain by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Mark Howard and Courtney Marie Andrews)
  • Ruins by First Aid Kit (produced by Tucker Martine)
  • The Tree of Forgiveness by John Prine (produced by Dave Cobb)

UK Song of the Year

  • Be More Kind by Frank Turner (written by Frank Turner)
  • Chicago by Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker (written by Josienne Clarke)
  • Southern Wind by Dean Owens (written by Dean Owens and Will Kimbrough)
  • Uh-huh by Jade Bird (written by Jade Bird)

International Song of the Year

  • Hold Your Head Up High by Darlingside (written by Auyon Mukharji, Caitlin Canty and Donald Mitchell)
  • Mockingbird by Ruston Kelly (written by Ruston Kelly)
  • Rolling On by Israel Nash (written by Israel Nash)
  • The Joke by Brandi Carlile (written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth)

UK Artist of the Year

  • Bennett Wilson Poole
  • Ethan Johns
  • Robert Plant
  • The Wandering Hearts

International Artist of the Year

  • John Prine
  • Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
  • Mary Gauthier
  • Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

  • CJ Hillman
  • Gwenifer Raymond
  • Martin Harley
  • Seth Lakeman

Lifetime Achievement Award

Selected by the board members, our highest honour is awarded to a UK artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music. The 2019 recipient will be Graham Nash.

Trailblazer Award

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates a UK artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana genre. The 2019 recipient will be Joe Boyd.

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award

Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year. The 2018 recipient will be Curse Of Lono.

Best Selling Americana Album

AMA-UK works with The Official Charts Company to create the UK Americana Album Chart. This Award is given to the bestselling AmericanaAlbum by a UK Artist. The 2019 recipient will be announced in January.

Grass Roots Award

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes un-sung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to individuals working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up. The 2019 recipients are Immy Doman and Risa Tabatznik of The Green Note

The 2019 ceremony will feature performances from nominees and award winners, including Graham Nash and Curse Of Lono. It will be hosted by Bob Harris.