BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards - The Winners

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards – The Winners

Congratulations to all of the winners at the 2019 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards which were announced last night at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester. Among the winners were many Proper distributed acts including Brìghde Chaimbeul, Seckou Keita, Karine Polwart, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita and Ye Vagabonds.

Performances included Edward II with Kitty Macfarlane, Kate Rusby, O’Hooley & Tidow, Whizz Jones, Thea Gilmore and Dervish who were accompanied by Kate Rusby and Damien O’Kane. You can listen to the full show on the BBC website here and find all of the winners below.

The Horizon Award

  • Brìghde Chaimbeul

Musician of the Year

  • Seckou Keita

Best Original Track

  • I Burn But I Am Not Consumed – Karine Polwart

Best Duo or Group

  • Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita

Best Traditional Track

  • The Foggy Dew – Ye Vagabonds

Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Whizz Jones
  • Dervish

Best Album

  • Hide and Hair – The Trials of Cato

Folk Singer of the Year

  • Ríoghnach Connolly

Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall Of Fame

  • Leonard Cohen

Radio 2 Young Folk Award

  • Maddie Morris
  1. Bones Of Gilead Richard Thompson 0:43

Listen on Spotify
  1. Chasing Shadows Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys 0:35

Listen on Spotify
  1. Fade & Fall (Love Not) Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band 0:30

Listen on Spotify
  1. Lost Show of Hands 0:51

Listen on Spotify
  1. Some Dreams Do Amy Speace 1:05

Listen on Spotify
  1. Kindness Ben Glover 1:00

Listen on Spotify
  1. Man, Friendship Kitty Macfarlane 0:37

Listen on Spotify
  1. Blues Run The Game Martin Simpson 0:30

Listen on Spotify