Blues Music Awards 2020

Blues Music Awards 2020 – The Winners

Congratulations to all of the winners at this year’s Blues Music Awards which took place last weekend as a virtual broadcast on Facebook and YouTube.

We’re thrilled to see many Proper distributed artists among the winners including Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, who was the big winner on the night taking home 5 awards, Sugaray Rayford, The Nick Moss Band feat. Dennis Gruenling, Albert Castiglia, Shemekia Copeland, Jimmie Vaughan and Rick Estrin.

You can watch the full awards show and find all of the winners below.

41st Blues Music Awards Winners

BB King Entertainer : Sugaray Rayford

Album of the Year: Kingfish – Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Band of the Year: The Nick Moss Band feat. Dennis Gruenling

Best Emerging Artist album: Kingfish – Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Acoustic Blues Album: This Guitar and Tonight – Bob Margolin

Blues Rock Album: Masterpiece – Albert Castiglia

Contemporary Blues Album: Kingfish – Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Soul Blues Album: Sitting on Top of the Blues – Bobby Rush

Traditional Blues Album: Lucky Guy! – The Nick Moss Band feat. Dennis Gruenling

Acoustic Blues Artist: Doug MacLeod

Blues Rock Artist: Eric Gales

Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Shemekia Copeland

Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Soul Blues Female Artist: Bettye LaVette

Soul Blues Male Artist: Sugaray Rayford

Traditional Blues Female Artist: Sue Foley

Traditional Blues Male Artist: Jimmie Vaughan

Bass: Michael “Mudcat” Ward
Drums: Cedric Burnside
Guitar: Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
Harmonica: Rick Estrin
Horn: Vanessa Collier
Piano: Victor Wainwright
Vocals: Mavis Staples

Historical Blues Album: Cadillac Baby’s Bea & Baby Records – Definitive Collection, Earwig Music

About the BMAs:
This event brings together Blues performers, industry representatives, and fans from all over the world to celebrate the best in Blues recordings and performances from the previous year. The BMAs are generally recognized as the highest honor given to blues musicians and are awarded by vote of Blues Foundation members.