AIM Awards 2020

AIM Awards goes virtual for 2020

This year’s AIM Independent Music Awards will be a virtual event and is set to take place on 12 August. We’re proud to be supporting this year’s event by sponsoring the Best [Difficult] Second Album category which sees Floating Points, FKA Twigs, Joe Armon Jones, Life and Moses Sumney all nominated.

Once again we’re pleased to see several Proper distributed artists among the nominees including Lauv whose nominated in the Best Independent Track category for ‘Modern Loneliness’, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds who are nominated for ‘Ghosteen’ in the Best Independent Album category, King Of The Rollers who’ve been nominated in the Best Independent Remix category for ‘You Got Me (S.P.Y. Remix)’, Good Soldier who are nominated for Best Independent Label and both Freya Ridings and Jade Bird who are up for the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist. Good luck to all of this year’s nominees which you can find below.

Alongside the award-giving, 2020’s ceremony will feature a variety of live performances with South London’s hotly tipped newcomer Arlo Parks the first to be confirmed. Watch this year’s event over on the SBTV YouTube channel or at

2020 Nominees

UK Independent Breakthrough

(in association with Youtube Music)

  • Georgia
  • Digga D
  • Fontaines D.C.
  • Kokoroko
  • Moses Boyd

International Breakthrough

(in association with Deezer)

  • Bicep
  • Floating Points
  • Hania Rani
  • Idles
  • Yaeji

Best Independent Track

(in association with Facebook)

  • AJ Tracey – Dinner Guest (Ft. Mostack)
  • Digga D – No Diet
  • Flying Lotus – More (Ft. Anderson .Paak)
  • King Krule – Alone, Omen 3
  • Lauv – Modern Loneliness
  • Sorry – Right Round The Clock
  • Squid – Sludge
  • Sudan Archives – Confessions
  • Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela – We’ve Landed
  • Yves Tumor – Gospel For A New Century

Best Independent Album

(in association with Spotify)

  • Brooke Bentham – Everyday Nothing
  • Everything Is Recorded – Friday Forever
  • Kidjo Ojua – The Mixtape
  • Kim Gordon – No Home Record
  • Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter
  • Moses Boyd – Dark Matter
  • Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen
  • The Ninth Wave – Infancy
  • Phoenix Da Icefire & Husky Brown – Panacea
  • Sarathy Korwar – More Arriving

Best [Difficult] Second Album

(in association with Proper)

  • Floating Points – Crush
  • FKA Twigs – Magdalene
  • Joe Armon Jones – Turn To Clear View
  • Life – A Picture Of Good Health
  • Moses Sumney – Græ

Best Small Label

(in association with Key Production)

  • Bedroom Indie
  • Edition Records
  • Femme Culture
  • Houndstooth
  • Speedy Wunderground

Best Independent Label

(in association with [PIAS])

  • Brownswood Recordings
  • Good Soldier
  • Jazz Re:freshed
  • Stones Throw
  • Young Turks

Best Live Act

(in association with Creative Technology)

  • Ayanna Witter-Johnson
  • Five Finger Death Punch
  • Red Rum Club
  • The Reytons
  • The Darkness

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

  • Freya Ridings
  • Fontaines D.C.
  • Jaykae
  • Jade Bird
  • NSG

Best Independent Remix

  • Lafawndah – Tourist X Nídia Rework
  • King Of The Rollers – You Got Me (S.P.Y. Remix)
  • Makaya Mccraven – Gil Scott-Heron – We’re New Again
  • Apparat – Outlier (Solomun Remix)
  • Marie Davidson – Work It (Soulwax Remix)

One To Watch

(in association with BBC Music Introducing)

  • Arlo Parks
  • Blanco White
  • Caroline
  • Greentea Peng
  • Lavida Loca

Best Creative Packaging

(in association with Signature Brew)

  • Digga D – Double Tap Diaries
  • Hania Rani – ‘Esja’ Sheet Music Book
  • Motörhead – 1979
  • Sophie – Oil Of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides Non-Stop Remix Album
  • Moses Boyd – Dark Matter Lp (Dinked Edition)

Best Independent Video

(in association with Vevo)

  • Black Pumas – Colours
  • Bombay Bicycle Club – Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)
  • Flying Lotus – Black Balloons Reprise (Ft. Denzel Curry)
  • Greentea Peng – Mr. Sun (Miss Da Sun)
  • The Howl & The Hum – The Only Boy Racer Left On The Island
  • Zebra Katz – Moor

Outstanding Contribution To Music

(in association with Merlin)

  • Tony Allen (Winner)

Pioneer Award

(in association with Evoke Studios)

  • Little Simz (Winner)

Innovator Award

(in association with Amazon Music)

  • AJ Tracey (Winner)

About the AIM Awards
The AIM Awards 2020 marks the twenty-first year of the Association of Independent Music (AIM) and champions industry-leading creativity, innovation, and performance shown by independent artists, labels, and outstanding individuals.

AIM is the not-for-profit trade body exclusively representing the UK’s independent music sector, which makes up around a quarter of the recorded music market. Now in its 20th year, AIM’s members range from the largest, most respected record labels and associated music businesses in the world to self-releasing artists and the next generation of entrepreneurs in music.

  1. Bones Of Gilead Richard Thompson 0:43

Listen on Spotify
  1. Chasing Shadows Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys 0:35

Listen on Spotify
  1. Fade & Fall (Love Not) Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band 0:30

Listen on Spotify
  1. Lost Show of Hands 0:51

Listen on Spotify
  1. Some Dreams Do Amy Speace 1:05

Listen on Spotify
  1. Kindness Ben Glover 1:00

Listen on Spotify
  1. Man, Friendship Kitty Macfarlane 0:37

Listen on Spotify
  1. Blues Run The Game Martin Simpson 0:30

Listen on Spotify