Katatonia – City Burials

Katatonia - City BurialsInspired by an injection of fresh blood into Katatonia’s creative brew, ‘City Burials’ is an album that sees the band reclaim part of their heavy metal roots, via several moments of exuberant, old school classicism, deftly woven into these new songs’ kaleidoscopic fabric.

Formed in 1991 by Jonas Renkse & Anders Nyström, and transitioning from early pioneers of the rising black/death/doom movement, to powerhouses of the progressive metallic rock genre, the Swedish connoisseurs of melancholy return with their stellar new opus, ‘City Burials’ – the band’s eleventh studio album, & first since 2016’s haunting ‘The Fall of Hearts’ was brought before the world.

With the winds of a new direction steering the band on their latest journey, ‘City Burials’ stands as Katatonia’s new triumph of deep & enigmatic progressive rock – the fruits of a rejuvenating and profound chapter in the band’s legacy; a catalyst for its creators, with a collection of moments constructed out of the fragments of an ever-evolving life. Compiled into one of their most important modern works and statements to date, the finely-honed instrumentation provides a multitextured backdrop with the voice of Jonas Renkse guiding us through these latest trials of loss and ruin.

Beyond their core creative duo, Katatonia are very much a full-blown band, and the chemistry between Jonas, Anders and their band mates – bassist Niklas Sandin, drummer Daniel Moilanen and most recent recruit, guitarist Roger Öjersson – has never sounded more potent, with ‘City Burials’ being the first album Katatonia have made since Öjersson became a full-time member.

‘City Burials’ was produced by Nyström/Renkse and recorded at Soundtrade Studios, Tri-Lamb Studios & The City Of Glass, throughout October & November 2019, with engineering work handled by Karl Daniel Lidén. The album also features a guest appearance by Anni Bernhard, the voice behind Stockholm based act Full of Keys. Artwork appears courtesy of Lasse Hoile, the image itself representing the ongoing era of the ‘Dead End King’.

The band will be supporting the release with festivals and touring planned throughout 2020 and 2021.

Label: Peaceville
UPC: 801056885425 (CD) | 801056886026 (CD Mediabook) | 801056885418 (LP)
Catalogue Number: CDVILEF854 (CD) | CDVILEF860 (CD Mediabook) | VILELP854 (LP)
Release Date: 24 April 2020