BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2018

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2018 – The Winners

The winners of the 2018 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, which celebrates the best of folk, acoustic and roots music, were announced last night in Belfast. Presented once again by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis, the awards show included performances from Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band, Cara Dillon, Lankum, Paul Brady, Olivia Chaney and Dónal Lunny & Zoë Conway.

Congratulations to all of this years winners which you can find below.

The Winners

Horizon Award Winner: Ímar
Best Traditional Track: Banks of Newfoundland – Siobhan Miller
Best Duo: Chris Stout and Catriona McKay
Musician Of The Year: Mohsen Amini
Best Original Track: The Granite Gaze – Lankum
Lifetime Achievement Award: Dónal Lunny
Best Group: Lankum – Between the Earth and Sky
Hall of Fame: Nick Drake
BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award: Mera Royle
Best Album: The Young’uns – Strangers
Good Tradition Award: Armagh Pipers Club
Folk Singer of the Year: Karine Polwart

  1. Bones Of Gilead Richard Thompson 0:43

Listen on Spotify
  1. Chasing Shadows Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys 0:35

Listen on Spotify
  1. Fade & Fall (Love Not) Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band 0:30

Listen on Spotify
  1. Lost Show of Hands 0:51

Listen on Spotify
  1. Some Dreams Do Amy Speace 1:05

Listen on Spotify
  1. Kindness Ben Glover 1:00

Listen on Spotify
  1. Man, Friendship Kitty Macfarlane 0:37

Listen on Spotify
  1. Blues Run The Game Martin Simpson 0:30

Listen on Spotify