UK Americana Awards 2020 nominees

UK Americana Awards 2020 Nominees Announced

The nominees for the 2020 UK Americana Awards were announced tonight at the AmericanaFest UK press launch, presented by this year’s International Artist of the Year winner Mary Gauthier and Baylen Leonard. Congratulations to all of the nominatees which once again include many Proper distributed artists and groups.

The fifth annual AmericanaFest UK 2020 takes place in Hackney from 28th to 30th January 2020. The conference will be held at Hackney Picture House and Hackney Empire buildings, the showcases will be at Oslo, Moth Club, Paper Dress Vintage and Empire Bar. all these venues are within 5 minutes walking of each other. The awards will be held at The Troxy, a short train or ride away.

Listen to the AMA-UK’s official nominees playlist on Spotify:

UK Album of the Year

  • Here There’s No Sirens – Pete Gow
    (produced by Joe Bennett)
  • Chasing Lights – Ida Mae
    (produced by Ethan Johns)
  • Bleeding on the Soundtrack – William the Conqueror
    (produced by Ethan Johns)
  • Walk Through Fire – Yola
    (produced by Dan Auerbach)

UK Artist of the Year

  • Jade Bird
  • Bear’s Den
  • Frank Turner
  • Yola

UK Song of the Year

  • Little Piece of Heaven – Elles Bailey
    (Written by Elles Bailey, Bobby Wood and Dan Auerbach)
  • The Fire – Jamie Freeman
    (Written by Jamie Freeman and Ben Glover)
  • Hear Your Voice – Danni Nicholls
    (Written by Danni Nicholls and Kyshona Armstrong)
  • Amy – Roseanne Reid
    (Written by Roseanne Reid)

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Ben Smith
  • Jim Maving
  • Siân Monaghan
  • Will Page

International Album of the Year

  • Undress – Felice Brothers
    (produced by Jeremy Backofen)
  • Highwomen – Highwomen
    (produced by Dave Cobb)
  • Songs Of Our Native Daughters – Our Native Daughters
    (produced by Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell)
  • Mint Condition – Caroline Spence
    (produced by Dan Knobler)

International Artist of the Year

  • Brandi Carlile
  • The Dead South
  • Larkin Poe
  • Mavis Staples

International Song of the Year

  • Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) – Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real
    (written by Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real)
  • Letter to Madeline – Ian Noe
    (written by Ian Noe)
  • Saying Goodbye – J.S. Ondara
    (written by J.S. Ondara)
  • Me and The Ghost of Charlemagne – Amy Speace
    (written by Amy Speace)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Joan Armatrading

Legend Award

  • Lonnie Donegan

Trailblazer Award

  • Nick Lowe

Grassroots Award

  • Mark Whitfield of Americana-UK

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award

  • Ferris And Sylvester
AmericanaFest UK