Harish Raghavan

Harish Raghavan – In Tense

Harish Raghavan - In Tense

‘In Tense’ from New York-based composer and bassist Harish Raghavan, was recorded at the end of 2020 in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic and follows his 2019 debut ‘Calls For Action’.

The album’s six tracks were written especially for the exceptional band of drummer Eric Harland, guitarist Charles Altura, Joel Ross on vibraphone and marimba, and Morgan Guerin on woodwinds. Raghavan has forged an impressive reputation through his work with the likes of Ambrose Akinmusire, Kurt Elling, Taylor Eigsti, Vijay Iyer, Charles Lloyd, Walter Smith III, Logan Richardson and Eric Harland; and is widely lauded for his work as leader.

Inspiration for this new album came from responding to the monumental events of that year, particularly the globally shared experience of the pandemic.

Harish Raghavan is a thoughtful composer and enigmatic musician, ‘In Tense’ is a commanding and immersive oeuvre that enchants from start to finish. Harish says: “the album is called In Tense and for me that means trying to stay present and in the moment.”

  • Harish Raghavan: double bass
  • Eric Harland: drums
  • Charles Altura: guitar
  • Joel Ross: vibraphone/marimba
  • Morgan Guerin: tenor saxophone, electric wine Instrument, bass clarinet

Label: Whirlwind Recordings
UPC: 0655498298066 (CD) | 0655498298073 (LP)
Catalogue Number: WR4789 (CD) | WR4789LP (LP)
Release Date: 26 August 2022