BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards – The Nominees

Congratulations to all of the nominees for the 2019 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards which were revealed last night on The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe. The annual awards ceremony celebrates and rewards the very best in folk, roots and acoustic music and this year the awards show takes place in Manchester, as part of the Manchester Folk Festival, on October 16. The awards show will include performances from Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita, Dervish, Edward II with more to be announced.

We’re thrilled to see a large number of Proper distributed artists included in the nominees including Lisa O’Neill, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita, Stick in the Wheel, The Rheingans Sisters, Brighde Chaimbeul, Kitty Macfarlane, Ye Vagabonds, Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith, Karine Polwart, Kathryn Tickell & The Darkening, Kris Drever and Seckou Keita.

Folk Singer of the Year

  • Gwilym Bowen Rhys
  • Lisa O’Neill
  • Olivia Chaney
  • Ríoghnach Connolly

Best Duo or Group

  • Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita
  • Stick in the Wheel
  • The Breath
  • The Rheingans Sisters

The Horizon Award

  • Brìghde Chaimbeul
  • Kinnaris Quintet
  • Kitty Macfarlane
  • The Trials Of Cato

Best Traditional Track

  • Factory Girl – Lisa O’Neill ft. Radie Peat
  • Ffoles Llantrisant – VRï
  • The Foggy Dew – Ye Vagabonds
  • The Reedcutter’s Daughter – Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith

Best Original Track

  • Blackbird – Lisa O’Neill
  • I Burn But I Am Not Consumed – Karine Polwart
  • Spells Out – Kathryn Tickell & The Darkening
  • Scapa Flow 1919 – Kris Drever

Best Album

The Best Album award is open to a public vote, you can vote your favourite of the 4 nominees here.

  • Ancora – Flook
  • Heard a Long Gone Song – Lisa O’Neill
  • Hide and Hair – The Trials of Cato
  • Soar – Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita

Musician of the Year

  • Jenn Butterworth
  • Mohsen Amini
  • Sam Sweeney
  • Seckou Keita